Eight new World Heritage Sites designated

Based on the technical evaluation reports of the World Conservation Union (IUCN), eight new natural World Heritage sites have been designated by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, meeting in Durban, South Africa.

These include Wadi Al-Hitan / Whale Valley (Egypt), the Valley of Flowers National Park (India), Shiretoko (Japan), the Islands and Protected Areas of the Gulf of California (Mexico), West Norwegian Fjords (Norway), Coiba National Park (Panama), Vredefort Dome (South Africa) and Dong Phayayen