Six nations agree on Asia-Pacific climate pact

The United States has announced an agreement with Australia, China, India, Japan and South Korea, to use cleaner energy technologies in hopes of curtailing climate-changing pollution.

The agreement, dubbed the Asia-Pacific Partnership on Clean Development and Climate does not bind any country to specific emission reductions. It also will not replace the 1999 Kyoto Protocol.

Senior US presidential aide, Jim Connaughton, laid out a series of areas where the accord aims to build on existing cooperation: reducing methane emissions; promoting “clean coal” use; expanding civilian nuclear power programs; promoting energy efficiency; and increased reliance on sources of energy other than fossil fuels.

The six countries pledged “enhance cooperation” to address the growth of climate-changing pollution while still meeting their growing energy needs, and nonbinding commitments to develop clean coal, nuclear and hydroelectric technologies that are less carbon intensive.

Meanwhile, the White House said the plan, which does not set precise new emissions targets or timetables, was to be unveiled formally by Deputy US Secretary of State Robert Zoellick at 0330 GMT at a regional summit in Laos

Source: China View